Roles & Permissions

Follow

Many teams need to customize their team's roles -- for example, the ability to create mid-tier managers, with access to see and edit what their team does (templates, cadences, people), but without the ability to edit administrative settings that affect how the tool works for everyone on the team (Salesforce Sync configuration, billing). We now offer that ability with Roles & Permissions, which allow admins to granularly create, customize and assign roles and permissions to various parts of the app. 

 

Roles Page

Roles allow you to change the security and administration of SalesLoft. Each role defines a group of users who have certain privileges. By default, SalesLoft comes with an admin role and a user role. These roles cannot be edited, renamed or deleted, though custom roles can.

Screen_Shot_2017-02-01_at_5.16.02_PM

 

Creation and editing

Custom roles can be created and named in one step, and will copy initial permissions from an existing default or custom role selected by you:

image1

 

Custom roles can be edited, deleted or renamed:

image2

Please note: New admin-level features SalesLoft rolls out will need to be added to any custom role by the team admin – they do NOT "inherit" new feature permissions from their original role parent.

 

Role Assignment

The new roles selection is available on the Admin Settings page, at the end of the row for each user (next to "Groups" if your team is on our Enterprise Plan or has access to that feature). This replaces the old make/remove admin buttons.image3

 

Deleting Roles:

Upon selecting "delete" on a custom role, we first check if there are users assigned to that role. If there are, we issue an alert and ask that you first reassign users to a different role.

image4

If there are no users currently assigned to that role, you can delete it:

image5

 

 

Permissions Page

Permissions let admins control more granularly what users can do and see in SalesLoft. You can define a specific set of permissions for each role, though the default Amin and User permissions cannot be edited. 

When you first visit this page, it will always include the Admin and User default roles, but you can change these to display up to four total roles side-by-side for comparison. The roles displayed on the permission page can be changed by clicking on the role name in the column header. 

Screen_Shot_2017-02-01_at_5.16.02_PM

 

You can easily edit any custom roles by checking or unchecking the box related to that particular object's permissions. 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk