In this article, you will find the answers to some of the most commonly asked questions about SalesLoft's integration with Salesforce, including:
- How Does SalesLoft Link Accounts in Salesforce?
- Automatic Unlink When Record Deleted in Salesforce
- Preparing for Salesforce My Domain or an Instance Refresh (URL change)
- I am migrating to a new or different Salesforce Org, what should I do?
- How Do I Connect to a Salesforce Sandbox?
- How Do I Disconnect from a Salesforce Sandbox?
When you import an Account from Salesforce into SalesLoft, the Salesforce and SalesLoft records will be linked according to your team's Account Management Settings.
If an Account exists in SalesLoft, but the behavior changes on the Salesforce side of things, Accounts will be linked according to the following rules:
- When a Lead is converted to a Contact in Salesforce: The Account in SalesLoft will automatically link to the Contact's Account in Salesforce.
- When the Account of a Contact is changed: The Person will be updated and tied to the correct Account in SalesLoft to mirror the new Account association in Salesforce.
Automatic Unlink When Record Deleted in Salesforce
When a Contact, Lead, Opportunity, or Account record is deleted in Salesforce, SalesLoft will automatically unlink it.
If such an event occurs, an "Unlink" Sync Log type will be shown reflecting this record change.
Things to Note:
- Salesforce has an auto-delete mechanism that should inform SalesLoft of any associated objects that were also deleted. Meaning, if Contacts in Salesforce are deleted when their Account is deleted, we will unlink the Account in SalesLoft, and the People associated with that record as well.
- Though unlikely, if for some reason Salesforce does not auto-delete these Contacts, their associated People in SalesLoft will not be unlinked.
Preparing for Salesforce My Domain or an Instance Refresh (URL change)
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are migrating to a different Salesforce Org all together, this means that all Salesforce record IDs will change. For Salesforce Org migrations, please submit a ticket to SalesLoft Support or reach out to your Customer Success Manager to discuss your options for migrating to a new Salesforce Org and the implications on your SalesLoft Team.
If you do not have My Domain enabled in Salesforce and your Salesforce Org has an upcoming instance refresh, your Salesforce URL structure will be updated to a new instance (example: na3.salesforce.com changes to na13.salesforce.com). This means that any preexisting Salesforce connections to Leads, Contacts, Accounts, etc.will result in broken links due to the new instance and URL structure.
Enabling My Domain:
When enabling My Domain in your Salesforce instance, your Salesforce URL updates to a new web address (example: na12.salesforce.com changes to my.domain.salesforce.com). This means that any preexisting Salesforce connections to Leads, Contacts, Accounts, etc., will result in broken links.
Preparing for an instance refresh or enabling My Domain:
To prevent broken links that may occur with an instance refresh or by enabling My Domain in Salesforce, reach out to our Support team. Provide the time when you would like us to update the Salesforce data along with your new URL link. For example, your former URL may have been na12.salesforce.com and you are moving to my.domain.salesforce.com.
After you've successfully enabled My Domain in Salesforce, it is important to update and test your Salesforce connection.
- Disconnect your Salesforce Sync Main Connector from previous CRM and reestablish connection with the new instance.
- Have each individual user disconnect from previous CRM and reconnect to new CRM (new SFDC instance).
- Import Leads/Contacts.
- Assess your Sync Logs for success/failures and reach out to Support if you see any failures.
I Am Migrating to a New or Different Salesforce Org, What Should I Do?
If you are migrating to a brand new or different Salesforce Org, this means that all Salesforce record IDs will change as well as your Salesforce URL structure.
For Salesforce Org migrations, the Salesforce Record ID and Salesforce URL must be updated for any SalesLoft record that is currently syncing with a record in Salesforce.
To prepare for your upcoming Salesforce Org migration, please submit a ticket to SalesLoft Support or reach out to your Customer Success Manager to discuss your options for migrating to a new Salesforce Org and the implications on your SalesLoft Team.
Teams may test your SalesLoft field configuration and activity logs in Salesforce by using a Salesforce sandbox before rolling out the Field Configuration Settings to your entire team.
Things to Note: Each user on your team will need to follow these steps to connect to the Sandbox instance.
We have created a short workaround to allow this connection for temporary testing purposes. Follow these steps to connect SalesLoft to your Salesforce sandbox:
- Click on your name in the top right and select Settings.
- Navigate to the CRM page under the Your Settings section in the left-hand menu bar. Even if you've already connected previously to a standard Salesforce instance, you can change it to a sandbox connection now.
- In the address bar at the top of your browser, add "?sandbox" to the end of the URL, like this:
- Now, your Salesforce connection should show the word (Sandbox) at the end in parentheses. You can now click that button to connect via test.Salesforce.com instead of the standard Salesforce log-in page.
How Do I Disconnect from a Salesforce Sandbox?
If you’ve been experimenting with your Salesforce sandbox and are now prepared to take things to production you should disconnect your Sandbox environment and switch to your Salesforce production instance.
To disconnect from your Salesforce sandbox, follow these steps:
- Disconnect your CRM here: https://app.salesloft.com/app/settings/crm
- Log out of your Salesforce sandbox if you have any other browser tabs open. Log into your production SFDC instance.
- Connect your CRM Settings to the production instance.
- Update your main Connector user.
- Lastly, remap the field mapping for the production instance in the Field Configuration Settings.