Some teams using SalesLoft may wish to keep object access and content visibility open to everyone on the team as a way of promoting shared ideas workloads.
Other teams may work with more confidential information that needs to be viewed by the owner and the owner alone.
Whatever your team's preference may be, you can manage which users can view and manage object records assign content visibility from the Access and Visibility Settings.
Things to Note: The Access and Visibility Settings were previously located in different areas of the SalesLoft settings:
- Object Access was previously in the General Settings
- Visibility Settings were previously in the Groups Settings
In this article, you will learn about the Access and Visibility Settings, including:
Select Object Access
Object Access determines the level of access users have to Person and Account records. Admins can restrict access to Person and Account records only to the users who own them in SalesLoft, which puts in place all required levers to protect and separate data between SalesLoft users.
Admins can determine what records users on the team can access between the following options:
- Owned by Anyone: All users will be able to view all People/Accounts in SalesLoft.
- Owned by Themselves Only: Users will only be able to view People/Accounts when they are designated as the owner.
- Owned by Users in their Groups/Child Groups Only: Users will be able to view People/Accounts that are owned by themselves or any user that is in their assigned Group.
Things to Note:
- Prior to March 15, 2021, the Object access settings were in the General Settings.
- If the Access Setting for a Person record is set to Owned by User and a user is running a Cadence that includes a Person they are not the owner of, the user will not be able to run Cadence steps for this Person, even if they were previously assigned to them.
- Recommendation: Before enabling access restrictions for a Person record, grant users assigned to Cadence steps access to People they do not own (either they should own the record or have "View All People" permissions).
- SalesLoft will remove People from Cadences within a day if users running these cadences don’t own these People.
To change the Access Settings, follow these steps:
- Go to the Access & Visibility Settings page under your Team Settings. You will land in the Object Access tab.
- Go to the Person Record and click Edit. The Object Access for Person Record module will appear.
- Select from the following options:
- Owned by Anyone
- Owned by Themselves Only
- Owned by Users in their Groups/Child Groups Only
- Click Save.
- Follow the same steps for the Account Record.
After the setting is changed to Owned by User, SalesLoft will process the update to apply to all users. Once SalesLoft has finished updating users' access to records, an admin will get an email notification that Object Access has been updated.
For users who need to have access to all records despite the Setting being set to Owned by User, set the Access Control permissions to override access for specific user roles.
Set Default Content Filters with Visibility Settings
When groups are assigned team content, an admin can determine how users can filter by group for team Cadences, team templates, and team snippets. This default filter for their groups is known as their Visibility settings, since it decides what content will be visible.
Things to Note: Prior to March 15, 2021, the Visibility settings were in the GroupsSettings.
Users can have the ability to filter team content by:
- Any Group: For managers who want their reps to be able to access content that has been assigned to their own group but also be able to navigate to content assigned to other groups in their organization.
- Their Group/Child Groups Only: For managers who want their reps to only be able to view content that has been assigned to their groups and applicable child groups only.
Once the Filtering Team Content Setting is applied, it applies team-wide.
To configure this setting, follow these steps:
- Go to the Access & Visibility Settings page under your Team Settings.
- At the top of the page, select the Content Visibility tab.
- Go to Team Content Visibility and click the Edit button. The Content Visibility module will appear.
- Select one of the following options:
- Any Group
- Their Group/Child Groups Only
- Click Save.
For Content visibility that is set to view Any Group, you will have the option to toggle on the Pre-populating the Group Filter setting. When this setting is enabled, users will see their team content filtered to their group's content by default. They can adjust their filters to view content outside of their group.